Posted by: Jivani Lisa | April 29, 2013

Gifts of the Holy Spirit

The Catholic Church, based on Chapter 11 of the book of the prophet Isaiah, lists seven gifts of the Holy Spirit that are conferred on believers:
1) Wisdom
2) Understanding
3) Right Judgement (or Counsel)
4) Courage (or Fortitude)
5) Knowledge
6) Reverence (or Piety)
7) Awe in God’s Presence

At first, I found this teaching confusing because it seemed that wisdom, understanding and knowledge were basically the same thing.  In quiet contemplation, I realized we need all three because:  Knowledge is in the mind; Understanding is in the heart; and Wisdom intuitively combines and transcends them both.

Come, Holy Spirit – and renew the face of the earth!

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: